Home /

University Grants Commission


Prof. M. Jagadesh Kumarobtained his MS(EE) and PhD(EE) degrees from the Dept of Electrical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, Madras. He did his post doctoral research at Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada. He is a Professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering at IIT Delhi.

He is presently the Chairman of University Grants Commission and Professor of Electrical Engineering at IIT Delhi. He is the 12th Vice-chancellor of Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi (Jan 2016 – Feb 2022). He still teaches at IIT Delhi. He held the NXP (Philips) Chair Professor established at IIT Delhi by Philips Semiconductors, Netherlands. He received the 2013 Award for Excellence in Teaching (in large class category) from IIT Delhi.

He works in the area of Nanoelectronic Devices, Nanoscale Device modeling and simulation, Innovative Device Design and Power semiconductor devices. He has published extensively in the above areas with three books, four book chapters and more than 250 publications in refereed journals and conferences. Several patent applications have been filed based on his research.

He is on the editorial board several international journals including IEEE Journal of the Electron Devices Society and is Editor-in-Chief of IETE Technical Review. He was an Editor of IEEE Transactions on Electron Devices for nine years.

He is a Fellow of Indian National Academy of Engineering, The National Academy of Sciences, India, and The Institution of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineers, India. He has been awarded the 29th IETE Ram Lal Wadhwa Gold Medal for distinguished contribution in the field of Semiconductor device design and modeling. He also received the first ever ISA-VSI TechnoMentor Award given by the India Electronics & Semiconductor Association to recognize a distinguished Indian academician and researcher for playing a significant role as a mentor and researcher. He is a recipient of 2008 IBM Faculty award in recognition of professional achievements.

He is the Chairman of the Governing Body of National Council of Science Museums, Ministry of Culture, Government of India. He is also the President, General Council, National Assessment and Accreditation Council, (NAAC). He was a member of University Grants Commission (UGC) and was a member (PT) of Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI).

Contact Details...